Featured_Image_Casa_Alessandra_Pool

Testimonials

VICKY & FAMILY

AUGUST 2015

“Wonderful Villa”

We stayed at Casa Alessandra for a week in August and had a wonderful time. It is in a great location – only 10 min drive from Castiglione del Lago – but also very secluded and away from it all. the villa is extremely comfortable, bright and spacious. Although we had some bad weather days, the house was so lovely we didn’t mind! Sandra, the owner, also went above and beyond the call of duty when we had some problems with our car rentals and was always on hand to offer suggestions on where to visit/eat etc. We were a group of 8 with small children, teenage children and grandmothers and the villa was prefect for all of us.

SUSAN & HER 4 LEGGED FRIEND !!

Date of Stay

May 9 – 23 2015

As we mostly travel with our dog(s) we usually end up with places that are a little below our expectations. Not the case here. The farmhouse was spacious and clean. We stayed for 2 weeks and appreciated the sheet change/clean half way through. The weather was glorious and we got to use the pool which was a lovely bonus. We ate out most lunch times and then ate light at night. The kitchen would have more than coped with large family meals though. It was lovely to have breakfast just outside the kitchen on the terrase. We enjoyed Cortona an amazing town with lots going on and beautiful views. Alesandra was always helpful when we asked for advise which made our stay trouble free.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway

 

ELOISE & FAMILY JUNE 2014:

We had the most spectacular holiday, three generations together we couldn’t have relaxed more. The location is spectacular, both the peacefulness of the house and the proximity to local towns and Florence/Rome by train. One the last night of our stay we had a conversation about what we would change in the house or location or facilities and we couldn’t find one thing, not one. We would all whole heartedly recommend Casa Alessandra. Sandra was a pleasure to deal with and a mine of information. If you’re feeling game we left a number of tennis/cricket balls in the hedge should you need one!

MICKEY & FRIENDS. AUGUST 2014:

We had a wonderful time at Casa Alessandra! The countryside is breathtaking and the accommodations were wonderful. We had a really long and exhausting drive on the day of our arrival and although we had seen pictures of the villa on the website, we weren’t quite sure what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the area and the quality of accommodations. It was truly a memorable trip.

The Harding Family July 2014:

We just spent a wonderful fortnight at Casa Alessandra with our best friends, making us a party of four adults and four kids aged 11-13 in total. We go on holiday every summer together and this is by a considerable distance the most fabulous house we have happened upon! Its quiet, rural location is both beautiful and peaceful, but it’s a short distance from amenities (we seem to need a supermarket trip just about daily with the kids’ appetites sharpened by all the swimming!) and from Castiglione, which is charming, and its gorgeous lake; we managed several day trips (Orvieto, Montepulciano, Cortona, Siena, Florence – the latter by train ) and were usually able to keep our promise to the pool-obsessed kids that we would be back by mid-afternoon at the latest on those ‘away days’! Italy is just such a brilliant holiday destination of itself, of course (the FOOD!!!…the people…the sheer beauty of the landscapes…the fairytale hill towns…) but the house really made our holiday. Sandra is a very helpful presence both on arrival and whenever needed thereafter, and the information folder provided is exceptionally comprehensive – we referred to it many times throughout our stay. We would highly recommend Casa Alessandra, in short, and hope to return in the future! Thanks Sandra

The Bossom Family. UK August 2013:

We found Casa Alessandra to be the perfect base for a week in the middle of August with our group of five. Mother-in-law was delighted to have her own en-suite on the ground floor (no stairs), while the two teenagers were able to have a huge room and bathroom each. So we were all in great comfort – but we could see that a capacity party of eight would have been absolutely fine too. Highlights of this pretty, spacious and well-designed house for us were the shady terrace for al fresco dining, the glorious pool and comfortable sun-loungers, the huge kitchen and the posh bathrooms. We found we could get absolutely everything we needed (mainly wine, fruit and salad) from a supermarket about 5 minutes towards the main town of Castiglione del Lago but we also enjoyed several excellent meals out at restaurants kindly recommended and booked for us by the owner. There is plenty to see in the area – we visited several hill towns including Montepulciano, Assisi and Cortona all within an easy hour’s drive. But after a morning’s sightseeing and pressure from the young to get back to ‘our house’ and the pool, it was always a pleasure to return to Casa Alessandra. And we will.

The Bennett Family, USA. July 2013:

Casa Alessandra was the perfect Italian home for our vacation, and completely fulfilled my preconceived expectations. From the location in the sun-kissed hills of Umbria near Castiglione del Lago, to the beautiful and comfortable living areas, to the sigh-worthy gardens and pool, we were able to relax at home and recharge our energy, or take day trips to Siena, Florence, and Orvieto. We had an amazing and wonderful time, and will be back to visit again.

Castignetti and Walters families, USA May 2013:

First I must apologize for the tardiness of this review. It is certainly not reflective of our wonderful vacation at Casa Alesandra.
When our family (husband, 2 daughters, son and son-in-law and myself) decided that Italy was our best destination for a family trip, we spent countless hours combing the Internet for the perfect property. We found it. Not only was it more beautiful than the pictures give credit, we immediately felt at home after a terrible travel experience. It was extremely comfortable for our adult children. Each had their own room and bath and we had the master suite. Alessandra was most accommodating. She willingly responded to my numerous emails to even the most trivial questions. When we arrived, there was ample information on local activities. We found during our stay that she has conspired with our children to plan an amazing surprise dinner to celebrate multiple special occasions including our 35th wedding anniversary. The dinner was amazing and we have been able to replicate one of the fabulous dishes (there is nothing like sausage from Italy). It was an evening that we will never forget.
The location of the villa was perfect. We left each morning by 9am and spent the day travelling to different parts of Italy. We managed to visit Rome (2X), Florence, Castiglione del Lago, Orvieto, Perugia, Montelpuciano, Montelcino, Siena, Assisi and Cortona. Rome was the furthest away at approximately 2 hours but the travel was well worth it.
One of the reasons that we brought the family to Italy was in anticipation of the announcement of a pregnancy. We wanted a final trip as a family without babies. The announcement happened the day we left….what a way to begin a special trip. From our families to Alessandra….THANK YOU! It is a trip that will always be remembered.

Bruno & Family, Canada June 2013

After a long search for the perfect Tuscan/Umbrian villa to celebrate a handful of important family milestones (mom’s 60th, parents 35th and sister’s 30th), we came across Casa Alessandra. Sandra, the owner, was very accomodating and very helpful, especially as it pertained to organizing a day for my parents to renew their vows at a beautiful local church. One of the best meals of my life followed at the villa (all organized by Sandra…Thx!!).
The villa itself is in a perfect central location relative to large cities such as Florence and Rome, and also beautiful medival hilltop towns such as Cortono and Montepulciano. The villa is located within a 5 min drive of Cast. del Lago, a lovely town with great views of the lake.
Bottom line, we had a great time and would certainly recommend the villa to those looking for a similar experience.

Ali Harper, 2012:

If you are looking for an authentic farmhouse experience with a stunning villa and beautiful scenery all around then look no further.The house is magnificent and provides a great base for day trips to many local towns. We stayed as a group of 6, 4 adults and 2 children for one week and the accommodation was brilliant.The photos on this site are a true representation of the house. It is thoughtfully decorated with all the necessary items for your stay. Our host was extremely friendly and helpful and even met us at a location and drove us to the house! During our stay we enjoyed a scrumptious dinner cooked for us by two lovely ladies for my 40th birthday, arranged by the host Sandra. This was indeed a place to relax!

Kelly Ellenz, 2012:

We stayed at this beautiful farmhouse in April of 2012, and had a wonderful experience! My husband and I brought our two girls, aged 2 and 4, and his grandmother. The house had more than enough space, was well equipped for cooking, and had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. We rented a car~which is a must to easily see the area. We took many day trips…drove to Sienna, Montepulciano, Cortona, Florence and many others! One day we easily took the train from Castiglione del Lago to Rome. It was great to have a house with a kitchen as a home base for exploring the beautiful area. We had a wonderful vacation and would love to return again someday. Sandra was very kind and helpful~this place is great!
Recommended for:Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Grossman, 2012:

Our experience here was first-rate. We were two couples—it would be fine for three couples or a large family. The house is clean, all normal amenities supplied. Rooms well furnished, beautiful views in all directions. There are plenty of stores within a few miles should you want to cook. The nearest town is about 5 kilometers–Castiglione del Lago is a charming hill town with excellent non-touristy shops and restaurants. We basically chose a different hill-town each day and explored Umbria and a bit of Southern Tuscany. It was the perfect location for Todi, Sienna, Pienza, Gubbio, and many other towns, all within an hour or a bit more. The owner was very helpful with restaurant suggestions although it is hard to go wrong in the small hill towns all over Umbria. The owner was also helpful in any question we had. We weren’t there in the heat of summer so we can’t vouch for the pool, but it looked inviting. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who wants a great centrally located place from which to explore either Umbria or Tuscany. I could also see it as a great place to have a small family reunion, although the drive from either Rome or Pisa might be a bit much for kids, after the flight. We flew into Rome, and the drive–very easy–was about two and one-half hours. All advertising and photos were absolutely accurate except that no photo can capture the charm of the countryside in full. Go to Umbria before it is as touristy as Tuscany, and this is a great starting point.

skipper S., Ireland October 2011:

Having read other reviews of this property I see little point in repeating those words but I echo them wholeheartedly. However, it is well worth writing about the location of the house and what we saw and did in the surrounding towns, vineyards and villages.
Ancient Etruscan hill top towns, still with their old fortifications. The towered and embattled archways on stone cobbled roads, winding their way to the summit. Narrow ancient streets full of wonderful shops, restaurants, cafes. Walking down a narrow stone flagged lane and at the end a completely elevated panorama looking out over thousands of acres of wine and olive groves. Rivers, lakes and villages, these places a photographer’s dream.
A restaurant we went to on the owner’s recommendation one night. Set in the approaches to another ancient hill top town, the entrance a single doorway, short up hill path to another door seemingly set in the rock wall. Eleven courses of the most delicious food. No menus, no wine list, all you could ever desire to eat and drink and a very modest account at the end of the evening.
Assisi, the famous resting place of St. Francis and the monastery still guarding the west side of the hill. I’m not inclined towards the religious side of life but I was captivated by the tranquility and beauty, the sense of something very special that remained there. The town was a maze of little streets, tiny shops, most people on foot exploring door to door. In an archway a group of Tibetan monks in their maroon robes selling products brought a third of the way around the world. Happy faces, welcome….please come in, what can I show you…..so helpful and considerate, made this such a special occasion.
A whole village specialising in cheese! Almost every shop was involved somewhere in the process. So many different tastes, brands, wrappings, hard and soft cheeses. Crumbly contents like a stilton, paper wrapped, big wheels of cheese with cloth wrappings. The smell of fresh baked bread and a café where we sampled their produce, all sorts of different flavours, textures and colours and doing this we sipped our wine in the sunshine.
I have so many memories, really wonderful memories of our holiday here. I am sure that this can be your experience too.

Suzanne, London, UK July 2011:

The map and written description brought us in our hire car from Pisa to the Casa on our first attempt; always a good start to the holiday. The house was clean and matched the photos and description; admittedly we had taken the house on recommendation from a friend. The owner was there to meet us and was more than willing to offer help if we needed babysitters, she showed us how everything worked. Once she had left, we reviewed the excellent folder she had provided which told of day trips, local restaurants, supermarkets etc. We called to ask her if she could arrange for a pasta making evening, this turned out to be worth every penny a lovely lady who sang opera and taught us to make pasta, without a pasta machine in sight! She provided the sauces and we provided the wine. The house was perfectly placed for our trips and whilst I have a good knowledge of the area the owners information provided a number of excellent restaurants. We tended to leave early and be home by mid afternoon were the lure of the pool and garden meant we lived mostly outside, the house is not overlooked and therefore has great views of the surrounding landscape. Overall the recommendation we received was not overstated and I would recommend this villa to others; we intend to return again.

Edith, Brisbane, Australia June 2010

Having arrived off a long flight from Australia, we arrived to a lovely old farmhouse. We were greeted by the charming owner, who gave us as all the information necessary, to ensure that we had a successful stay during our week in this beautiful part of Umbria. A lovely and very comfortable home, wonderfully fitted out with all the mod cons. Host, House, Food and Italy could not have been better. A perfect spot to enjoy for the whole family. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wishes to spend time relaxing by the pool/house and enjoying all that this area has to offer.